Irony and so on…

On the train today, I saw two advertisements, side by side.

Why is this ironic? Well one of the ads was a Christmas emergency appeal for homeless children by the charity Shelter. The second was an ad for made.com for various items ranging from a chair which cost around 100 pounds,  a glorified bicycle  costing close to 200 pounds and much more.
How ironic life is. There are people who are able to and who do buy these things while there are homeless children who might die on cold streets. No food, no warmth and no shelter.image

Makes one think how do people who sail through life, having all those things but being blissfully ignorant to the plight of others, live with themselves ?

For less than half the price of one of these items, those children could get shelter during these dangerous and difficult times. Does this mean I am condemning those who do want these nice things in life? Simply put… No, I really am not. People work hard and there is nothing wrong with enjoying a few nice things in life.  I read the following in the book, “Discover Your Destiny with The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari: The 7 Stages of Self-Awakening” by Robin Sharma. It says that it is not wrong to want money and live a comfortable life but  to be careful that making money does not become the sole focus of one’s life above all else.  I really love this quote which really summarizes it all ; ” money is the unintended yet inevitable by-product of a life spent helping others get what they want.”  

image

As for myself, I am always very grateful and glad that I was born in a middle class family. My parents have worked very hard. They both come from families where their fathers were in menial jobs (labourers in fields and manual jobs) and their mothers were housewives. Their life was difficult but nevertheless a character building childhood, adolescence and adulthood.  I am very proud of both of them to be the open minded and strong individuals they are today. The environment which me and my siblings grew up in, allowed us  to think more about our career paths in terms of what we want to do rather than we HAVE to do any jobs which will allow us to get a lot of money. For this, I am eternally grateful, because not once have I thought to find a job purely for the financial gain. I know money is important and however much I do make, I will save and manage within my means.

Coming back to the initial issue, what is it that those who are in a position to help using the fortunes they have can do? Even whilst enjoying the finer things in life?

I guess this is something to ponder on and carefully consider…

Leave a Reply

